Random Acts of Kindness

global pilgrims

I confess to idling this morning with a feeling of vacancy. This is not unusual, especially now we live in the land of procrastination and retrospection. All kinds of spection really, including intro. But it is Sunday after all and that’s a day of rest.

Turning to the internet to look myself up before doing anything constructive I was seduced by another Mary J Howell who is/was prolific. Her list of books is daunting. A random two from the list give a flavour.

The Hand-Book Of Dress-Making; Including Correct Rules For The Pursuit Of The Above Art, And Concisely Illustrating The Mode of Fitting At Sight (Paperback)

and

The Hand-Book Of Millinery – Comprised In A Series Of Lessons For The Formation Of Bonnets. Capotes, Turbans, Caps, Bows, Etc – To Which Is Appended A Treatise On Taste, And The Blending Of Colours – Also An Essay On Corset Making (Hardback)

by Mary J Howell (pas moi, I’m afraid). Obviously she didn’t idle and blame her adoptive country.

Apart from the crossword, the paper and the internet, I have read of ‘random acts of kindness’ from one of my Camino contacts. No kind deed that I could perform, random or otherwise, comes to mind, only one that happened to me.

On a solitary trip to the local flea pit once, I had no cash only a card, and the cinema accepted only cash and no cards. A woman in the queue bought me a ticket. ‘Here you are.’ and she was gone. I didn’t see her again. But that random act of kindness has stayed with me. I think of it occasionally when I’m idling.

When I mention this to Sunny Boy he suggests I make him a cup of tea. It’s a start.

Leave a Reply

