A Girl is a Half Formed Thing

 

photo copy 2
It is a disturbing read and quite haunting. I couldn’t gallop through in a couple of sittings as one reviewer claimed to have done, although it is quite compulsive reading, mostly because it is moving, sad, harrowing. And then the stilted jerking way of writing is often too tiring, too jarring and, let’s face it, too confusing. That I suppose is the point of rape after rape.
It is an awful vision here and disturbing to think as the title suggests this is the accepted view of women/girls. This treatment is all they are worth!

I had thought to read it again immediately as happens with some books but with this I simply had to move on. I’m glad I read it… but just the once.
It has only just struck me, do we even know the girl’s name? Poor half formed thing?  I have not yet gone back to check, too engrossed with Americanah.

Leave a Reply

